logo
logo

Content Hub FAQ

There are many resources available to help you successfully work with Sitecore Experience Edge™ for Content Hub and Sitecore Content Hub™ including best practices, videos, user documentation, cloud development documentation, and API reference documentation.

The following sections provide answers to common FAQs.

Tip

If you do not find an answer to your question in the documentation or this FAQs section, use the Improve this doc link to request more information.

Questions about Experience Edge

Which license do I need to use Experience Edge?

You need both the Experience Edge license and the Sitecore Content Marketing Platform (CMP)™ license.

For more information, see Licensing.


Are Experience Edge functionalities only available for Sitecore CMP definitions or can I use them with other Content Hub definitions?

You need a Sitecore CMP license to use Experience Edge functionalities. Once your Sitecore CMP license is active, you can extend Experience Edge functionalities to other definitions.

As a superuser, you can extend content collections with other definitions and configure them for publishing. For an extension example, see Extend content collections for products.


What are the different roles available for content collections?

Content collections define four roles:

  • Reader
  • Developer
  • Contributor
  • Manager

You should consider the content collection roles from two different perspectives: content authoring and API keys permissions. Depending on the perspective, the roles have different permissions. The current roles are similar to the asset collections roles, with the addition of the developer role. This role has the same authoring rights as a reader but can also create API keys.

For more information on content collection roles, see User access to content collections.


Are the default roles extensible?

Role templates are not system-owned, so it is possible to extend the permissions provided by default, including API keys permissions. For more information on roles and permissions, see Policies.


When a role does not have rights on Experience Edge, does it mean it cannot generate API tokens?

Yes. For more information on roles and permissions, see Policies.


Is there any logging on key creation and key usage?

No.


How to approve a content item? Is the displayed workflow extensible?

You can approve a content item by using the state flow operations defined by default. Depending on your needs, you can also add custom state flows and disable the default ones.

For additional information about state flows, see CMP flow and State flows.


The How to publish taxonomy items video shows how to tag a marketing entity to not be published to delivery. Does this apply to the specific taxonomy only or to all related items?

All the taxonomies are published by default as soon as you create them. You can disable publishing for the whole taxonomy or for any specific taxonomy value. The video scenario shows how to disable publishing for a particular taxonomy value by enabling the Don't publish to delivery flag. In this case, only that value is not sent to delivery, but related entities are.

For additional information, see Prevent a taxonomy from being published to the delivery platform.


## Questions about Content Hub

When drafting is enabled for an entity definition, what is the impact on the schema?

Enabling drafting only adds relations to the schema, without security inheritance or content inheritance. Thus, there should not be any significant impact.

For additional information on enabling drafting, see Drafts and watch the Entity drafting videos.


What is the purpose of the entity draft? Can you provide a relevant use case?

A draft is a temporary item that extends the lifecycle of a published entity, allowing you to edit it without starting the creation and approval process from the start. For example, you can create a draft of a published recipe content you want to update. The original recipe content stays available but is locked while you edit the draft. When your draft is ready, you need to send it through an approval workflow for the changes to be approved and merged into the published version.

For additional information on drafting, see Drafts and watch the Entity drafting videos.


Is there a default way to have multiple types of variants? For example, localization variants or adaptation variants?

You can customize your variants use cases by adding a new or changing the localization operation and selecting the fields (members) that determine the variant entity.

For additional information on variant configurations, see Variants.


When variants are enabled for an entity definition, what is the impact on the schema?

Enabling variants only adds relations to the schema, without security inheritance or content inheritance. Thus, there should not be any significant impact.

For additional information on enabling variants, see Variants and watch the Entity variants videos.


Enabling variants did not request any confirmation. Are heavy operations done behind the scenes? Do disabling variants revert any changes done previously?

Disabling the feature only removes the UI components and operations that were made available for variants. Created copy profiles and configurations are kept intact. You can use them again if you re-enable variants.


How to configure the variant operation for my business needs? Does setting fields as mandatory impact the schema?

No. Although both are needed from a schema standpoint and for the operation configuration, mandatory fields and the variant operation are independent.

If a field is mandatory, the creation dialog box does not allow you to create a variant until you fill the field (schema requirement) with a value different from the original value (operation mandatory field requirement).

For more information on variant configurations, see Variants.


The How to configure pages to show variants video shows a variants page. Was this page created by the system when enabling the variants for the entity definition?

Yes. Once enabled, the variant page is created.

For more information on variant configurations, see Variants.


On the variants search component, no additional filter is added to link variants and original. Is the connection between the variants and the original entity not shown on the UI? If so, why?

The filter is not shown on the UI because the UI component does not allow the rendering of such filters. Hence, no special filtering is applied.


Is there a way to configure a search component directly on the details page without using a popup?

You can duplicate the search component on other pages or use the variant page on other pages.


What happens if a relation/property is not part of my copy profile? Is there a default operation such as a new property added after the copy profile creation?

If you do not specify otherwise in your copy profile, new members have the Ignore method for draft creation, and draft merge profiles, and the Keep method for variant profiles.


What information is tracked in the links when using the share via email operation? Are these the same as for the public links?

Email links are public links created on top of download orders. Thus, the same rules apply to public links.


Does using the share via email operation always create a ZIP package, even when a single asset is selected?

Yes. When you send an email, a download order is created, and a public link is created on top of the download order. Therefore, even for a single asset, a ZIP package is created.


What is the system behavior when I do not have the ShareViaEmail permission for some of the assets in a selection that I want to share using the Share via email operation?

In this use case, the Share via email operation is unavailable in the selection component. Thus, you cannot share the selection via email. This behavior is the same for all bulk operations.


Is soft deletion only available for assets or can I extend it to other entity definitions?

It is currently only available for assets.


When making a restore from the cold storage, is the priority of the processing jobs the same as a regular upload?

The priority of restoring renditions is the same as a refresh rendition, which is the minimum priority and therefore a lower priority than a regular upload.


Can we improve this article ? Provide feedback