logo
logo

Drafts

Using the drafts feature, you edit items without directly applying the changes to the original item versions. The draft entity is a copy of the master entity, with the same file reference, relations and metadata configuration. The Drafts feature allows you to edit approved entities. You can also save a modified entity as a standalone entity.

This document contains the following:

  1. Create draft
  2. Submit draft
  3. Save as new
  4. Discard draft

Sitecore Content Marketing Platform (CMP)™ has the draft feature available out-of-the-box as part of the concept of transcreation.

Note

For more information, see the ideation flow.

Create draft

To create a draft:

  1. On the desired entity detail page, click More actions .
  2. Click Create draft.
  3. Click Edit.
  4. Modify the desired data fields.
  5. Click Save.

As a result:

  • A draft is created (duplicate of the original entity).
  • The original entity is locked for editing until the draft is approved or discarded.
  • The DRAFT and ORIGINAL indicators appear on the respective pages.

To navigate between draft and original:

  • On the draft detail page, click View original to see the original page.
  • On the original detail page, click View draft to see the draft page.
Note

You cannot find drafts in Search, use the View draft button instead.

Submit draft

To submit a draft for approval, on the draft entity detail page:

  1. Click Submit.
  2. Click Confirm.

As a result, the draft page is saved and moves to the next approval workflow state (In review). The draft can be:

  • Approved: the changes are applied to the original entity and the draft entity is deleted.
  • Rejected: the changes are not applied and the draft entity reverts to the previous workflow state (In progress).

Save as new

If you want your draft to be a different entity than the original, you can save it as a new entity.

In this case, when creating your draft, click Save as new entity instead of Save.

As a result, the draft is saved as a standalone entity and the original entity is unlocked for editing.

Discard draft

To discard a draft:

  1. Go to the draft entity detail page.
  2. In the main operations menu (or in ), select Discard draft.

For a video on saving a draft as a new content item, see How to save a draft as a new content item.

Can we improve this article ? Provide feedback