logo
logo

Feature overview

Microsoft OneDrive is a file hosting service and synchronization service operated by Microsoft as part of its web version of Office. OneDrive allows you to store files and personal data like Windows settings or BitLocker recovery keys in the cloud, share files, and sync files across devices.

The OneDrive check-in/check-out process offers you the possibility to work on assets with different authoring tools, such as Photoshop or Illustrator, while ensuring a full audit trail and a version control within Sitecore Content Hub™.

Cloud drive integration

The CloudDrive integration setting configuration depends on the Sitecore Content Hub™ version you're using.

Version 3.4.0

In the version 3.4.0, the CloudDrive integration setting is system-owned, meaning it requires administrative access. You can see the configuration as described in the next section, but you need to contact your account manager to update the setting.

Versions 3.4.1 and higher

In the versions 3.4.1 and higher, the CloudDrive integration setting is no longer system-owned, meaning it can be edited by superusers.

If you wish to connect your Sitecore Content Hub profile to your personal or business OneDrive account, navigate to Settings found under Manage:

On the Settings page, select the Integration option then select CloudDrive:

In the OneDrive editor, change the value of enabled to true in the business settings for OneDrive for Business, in the personal settings for OneDrive personal or both values:

Connect to OneDrive

You can connect Sitecore Content Hub profile to your personal or business OneDrive accounts:

  1. Click on the Profile icon to display the menu and select the Profile option:

  2. Click the button:

  3. Select the type of account you are using, either OneDrive Personal or OneDrive for Business:

  4. Enter your OneDrive credentials and confirm:

  5. In Sitecore Content Hub™, a notification pop-up will confirm that your profile has been connected to OneDrive:

OneDrive Checkout

Once your Sitecore Content Hub profile is successfully connected to your OneDrive account, you can start checking out assets:

  1. After selecting the assets to check out, go to the selection menu and click on Checkout:

    For more information on setting up the Checkout operation, please see Checkout operation.

  2. Confirm your choice by clicking on OK:

    Note
    • Once confirmed, the system creates a checkout job in the background.
    • When the checkout job is completed, the assets are checked out and synchronized to your OneDrive folder.
    • When assets are checked out, they are locked in the system so no one can modify them in the meantime.
  3. To see your checked out asset, go to Checkouts in the User pages menu:

    For more information on setting up the Checkouts page, please see Checkout page.

  4. In the left column, under Local, you can see the original file which was checked out. In the right column, under Remote, you can see the asset version on OneDrive.

  5. In the OneDrive folder, you can see the checked out assets (in the example we are using Adobe Bridge application to explore the files).

  6. You are now able to modify the assets using your preferred modification tool.

  7. Make your changes then save the asset.

  8. In My checkouts page, you can see the updated version of the asset in the Remote column.

OneDrive Check-in

After modifying the assets, you can choose to check in the assets or to discard them. Checking in the assets brings the modifications into the system, adding a new file version to the asset. Discarding them cancels the modifications.

Note

Upon checking in or discarding an asset, the lock is removed and the asset becomes available again for editing by other users in the system. The asset is also removed from the OneDrive folder.

Side-by-side comparison

The application also offers a side-by-side comparison tool between the original version and the new version of the asset:

  1. After checking in the asset, go to the Asset Detail page.

  2. In the file history panel, click on the original version of the file then click on Compare to master.

  3. By sliding the cursor horizontally, you can clearly see the difference between the two versions.

Can we improve this article ? Provide feedback