logo
logo

Drafts

Using the drafts feature, you edit items without directly applying the changes to the original item versions. You can also save a modified item as a standalone item. Drafts allow you to adapt and reuse items while maintaining the original item's intent, style, tone, and context.

Currently, there are two draft mechanisms. Asset versioning is separate, but in the future, both draft mechanisms will be aligned for a unified experience across all modules.

Note

This section refers to the Entity operation page component, but focuses on drafts-related configuration parameters.

Enable drafts

Important

You must enable the State flow functionality to use the Drafts feature.

To create drafts, enable the Drafts functionality on the target entity definition:

  1. On the menu bar, click Manage .
  2. On the Manage page, click Schema, and then click the target entity definition.
  3. At the top of the entity definition page, click Actions , and then click Enable/Disable.
  4. In the Enable/Disable dialog box, turn on the Drafts switch .
  5. Click and select the target detail page.
  6. Click Confirm.
  7. Click Done.

Enabling the Drafts functionality automatically:

  • Adds the {Definition}To{Definition}Draft, {Definition}IsDraft, and DraftLifeCycleStatusTo{Definition} members to the entity definition.
  • Creates three default copy profiles to: create a draft, merge a draft, and save as a new entity.
  • Creates a dedicated draft state flow containing three states: in progress, in review, and done.
  • Creates already configured operations for the entity page components: Create draft, View original and View draft.
  • Enables the Save as new operation for Entity operation page components (this operation requires configuration).
  • Adds the DRAFT and ORIGINAL indicators on the respective pages.

Save as new configuration

The Save as new operation is the only draft operation that you need to configure manually.

Note

This operation cannot be automatically configured because the life cycle status and state flow required when saving a draft as an entity is not predictable.

To configure the Save as new operation:

  1. On the menu bar, click Manage .
  2. On the Manage page, click Pages, and then select the target page.
  3. Add an Overwrite values operation in the Entity operation page component.
  4. Click and select the Save as a new entity copy profile in the list.
  5. Click Select, and then click Save.
  6. Modify the Save as a new entity copy profile to contain the desired life cycle status and state flow.

Permissions

Users require the appropriate permissions to create drafts. You set up permissions through the User group policies.

To allow users to create drafts:

  1. Add them to the SM.Everyone user group.
  2. Grant the SM.Everyone user group the CreateDraft permission for the desired entity definition(s).
  3. Make sure to grant SM.Everyone access to the required portal pages.

Out-of-the-box drafts

Sitecore Content Hub™ offers an out-of-the-box draft feature in Sitecore Content Marketing Platform (CMP)™ for content in Final life cycle status.

The following is automatically configured:

  • Draft state flow.
  • Save as new entity, Create draft, View original and View draft operations.
  • DRAFT and ORIGINAL indicators.
  • Create a draft, Merge a draft and Save as a new entity copy profiles.

User groups

When enabling drafting, users need to see the draft state flow. For users to see the draft state flow, you must add them to the SM.Everyone user group.

You can add users to the SM.Everyone user group in one of two ways:

Finally, update the policy combination of the SM.Everyone user group to include the correct policy combination.

For details on adding users to a user group, see add a user to a user group.

Warning

State flows drive the merging of drafts into originals. It is enabled for any definition that uses the drafting functionality. The out-of-the-box draft state flow only allows M.Builtin.Approvers or superusers to approve a draft entity. The merging logic is invoked when a DraftLifeCycleToDefinition relation is set to the Done state by an M.Builtin.Approver or superuser approving. This relation is defined as allow_update=false, which means you can only update it through the draft state flow.

Note

To learn more about drafting, watch the How to create a draft and merge it back with original content item video.

Can we improve this article ? Provide feedback